R.Kelly admits he is illiterate

R. Kelly

Singer/songwriter R. Kelly has revealed that despite his musical talents, he suffers from illiteracy and barely made it through high-school.

The ‘Trapped In The Closet’ star spoke of his shortcoming, during a speech he gave at the Midwest Musical Festival in Chicago, he said: “I don’t even really read and I’m not afraid to say that. My cousins and brothers used to tease me.

“The only reason I graduated from grammar school is because I had a great jump shot. I went to high school and [my teacher] told me ‘you will be one of the greatest writers of all time.’ I believed. You [have to] believe it. You can’t believe [anything] if you’re hating. You can’t achieve [anything] if you’re hating.”

It’s rather odd and ironic that one of the most ubiquitous songwriters in contemporary R&B would struggle to read a children’s book…stay in school kids.

October 14, 2009. Tags: , , , , , , , , . Celebrity.

One Comment

  1. wilson replied:

    i like the way he sings his music

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

